LOWRES -demo

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by dr beep »

You don’t need DFILE just built the string and print the string.
Edit: you need to poke the string. PRINT skips the bit6 codes.
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by dr beep »

I have altered the QUARACTER-generator

Controls are still QAOP and SPACE but you see the ascii-value of the character
and you can directly change the character in ANY other value simply by pressing that key.
When you need QAOP or SPACE you press a close key and use LEFT/RIGHT to make the right value.
Quagen-1.p
(469 Bytes) Downloaded 249 times
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 2004
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by mrtinb »

I've just tested this on the Lambda 8300 and was very curious about the result. Because the Lambda 8300 only supports text mode.

It gives a new graphics mode on the Lambda 8300. Yes! But it is a little different than on the ZX81.

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=5556
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by dr beep »

We need to find out why so we can predict our graphics.

EDIT : SOLVED, 1 linefeed
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 2004
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by mrtinb »

dr beep wrote: Sun Jun 02, 2024 11:18 am I have altered the QUARACTER-generator

Controls are still QAOP and SPACE but you see the ascii-value of the character
and you can directly change the character in ANY other value simply by pressing that key.
When you need QAOP or SPACE you press a close key and use LEFT/RIGHT to make the right value.

Quagen-1.p
Now we have found, that the Lambda 8300 displays the same characters as the ZX81, if an extra regular text line is below.

Can you then port the QuarGen software to Lambda 8300, or maybe release the source? EightyOne and JSZeddy will help you test the software, as they currently is the most accurate emulation we have.
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by dr beep »

mrtinb wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 4:33 pm Now we have found, that the Lambda 8300 displays the same characters as the ZX81, if an extra regular text line is below.

Can you then port the QuarGen software to Lambda 8300, or maybe release the source? EightyOne and JSZeddy will help you test the software, as they currently is the most accurate emulation we have.
I will give you the source.
And I can make a port of MUSHROOMMAN too.
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 2004
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by mrtinb »

dr beep wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 4:35 pm
And I can make a port of MUSHROOMMAN too.
Incredible!
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by dr beep »

The source of the generator
Quagen-1.asm
(3.93 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
ChrisB
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2024 8:53 am
Location: France

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by ChrisB »

Hello,
I am struggling trying to move a 'quaracter' on the screen. I'm not sure I'm using the right method.
Can someone please help me ? Thank you !

Code: Select all

; -------------------------------------

gamecode 

	ld hl,char1		; first display
	ld (hl),"H"-27	
	ld hl,char2
	ld (hl),"H"-27
	ld hl,char3
	ld (hl),"A"-27	
	ld hl,char4
	ld (hl),"A"-27			

wkey	ld bc,(lastk)		; get key information
	ld a,c			; copy C in A to keep C
	inc a			; Test if NOKEY pressed
	jr z,wkey		; NO KEY, wait for key

	call erase

	call right

okmove  jr wkey		; stay in playloop


;---------ROUTINES-----------------------------

erase
	ld hl,char1
	ld (hl),0		; erase old position

	ld hl,char2
	ld (hl),0

	ld hl,char3
	ld (hl),0

	ld hl,char4
	ld (hl),0
	ret

right
	ld hl,char1
	inc hl			; move right
	ld (hl),"H"-27

	ld hl,char2
	inc hl
	ld (hl),"H"-27

	ld hl,char3
	inc hl
	ld (hl),"A"-27

	ld hl,char4
	inc hl	
	ld (hl),"A"-27
	ret

;----------------------------------------------

; the display file, Code the lines needed.
dfile
	db 118,118
char1
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	db 118
char2	
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	db 118
char3	
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	db 118
char4	
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	ld h,d
	ld l,e
	db 118

	db	118,118
	block	6,0
	db	"P"-27,"R"-27,"E"-27,"S"-27,"S"-27,0
	db	"A"-27,0,"K"-27,"E"-27,"Y"-27,118

	db	#e9	; fill unused part of the screen

	
vars	db 128
last	equ $		

end			
Attachments
screen.p
(253 Bytes) Downloaded 49 times
screen.asm
(3.06 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: LOWRES -demo

Post by dr beep »

First of all… you only need LD H,D and LD L,E only once on every line.
a line may moke like this
Db “ld h,d”, “ld l,e”, 30 spaces, 118

To do a display you then place a character somewhere on the line and a second, third and fourth on the same position a line lower.

Horizontal movement is 1 position left or righ5 but check that you do not overwrite the opcodes for de ld h,d, ld l,e and halt in that line.

For vertical movement you need to go down 4 lines.
Post Reply