Hidden opcodes

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
Post Reply
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Hidden opcodes

Post by dr beep »

I am working on my next game which need circles to be drawn in diameter 1 to 9.

I have drawn the circles in EXCEL and I want to code them on the screen with hidden opcodes.
circles.png
This will work but...... for the game I need multiple circles overlapping eachother and
unfortunately due to the spaces in some circles the overlap is not perfect.
I can solve this IF I had extra hidden opcodes to code the circles but....
you can only change D and E without problems and I need more registers to store the info.

So I tried something new.
I started a line with EXX and ended a line with another EXX.

This allows me to store more info on the screen. I can now also use B,C,H and L
User avatar
XavSnap
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: 'Zx81 France' Fb group.
Contact:

Re: Hidden opcodes

Post by XavSnap »

Hi Dt Beep,

If you can use an UDG routine, you can reset all letters to zero, a white squares.
display an ascii table "ABBBC' and change the UDG for A, B or C to only display the requiered characters.
All 'A' (for exemple) characters will be diplayed on the screen refresh if you redefine this character.
You also can move IR in $2000 to hide UDGs to white or black squares.

Have fun.
Xavier ...on the Facebook groupe : "Zx81 France"(fr)
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Hidden opcodes

Post by dr beep »

XavSnap wrote: Tue Feb 18, 2025 8:56 pm Hi Dt Beep,

If you can use an UDG routine, you can reset all letters to zero, a white squares.
display an ascii table "ABBBC' and change the UDG for A, B or C to only display the requiered characters.
All 'A' (for exemple) characters will be diplayed on the screen refresh if you redefine this character.
You also can move IR in $2000 to hide UDGs to white or black squares.

Have fun.
I will make a screen with hidden opcodes and during the circle display the hiddenopcodes will be replaced by a graphic.
Next loop the circle is erased and 1 step larger displayed.
Since each circle is precalculated the display should be fast. Still untested but I am expecting it.
Now setting up the screen in excel.
User avatar
stefano
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:24 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden opcodes

Post by stefano »

I have vague memories HL' being used somewhere in ROM, I'm not totally sure, though, .
Post Reply