TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Discussions about Sinclair ZX80 and ZX81 Hardware
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 2004
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by mrtinb »

If it acts up again, then maybe put some round pin headers into the socket and put the chip into the round pin headers. It's worth a try.

2.54mm Round Female Pin Header
https://a.aliexpress.com/_EGMbRaR
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
Moggy
Posts: 3493
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 pm

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by Moggy »

Great to hear you have had some success at last, long may it continue! :D
???????????????????????????PIINKEY$?????RND????????????????????????????????????????????????????????PI????????
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:56 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by 1024MAK »

Heat and movement/vibration may be a factor where intermittent or poor connections are concerned because either can make a difference between the poor contact being conductive or becoming open circuit or having a high resistance connection. Some contact cleaners help sometimes.

On the subject of removing existing sockets, is it the desoldering that is the problem?

Unless someone is experienced, my recommendation is to use electronic snips (wire / side) cutters to cut the plastic in between each contact. Once the entire socket is chopped up, you can heat up each pin individually with an iron and use long nose pliers to very gently pull that pin out. Never use any force. When the solder is liquid, the pin should come out very easily. Then once all the pins have been removed, you can remove the remaining solder with either a desoldering pump / solder sucker or with desolder braid/wick. Buy good branded from a good supplier, not the cheap rubbish from trading sites.

Then a new socket can be soldered in.

Mark
ZX81 Variations
ZX81 Chip Pin-outs
ZX81 Video Transistor Amp

:!: Standby alert :!:
There are four lights!
Step up to red alert. Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb :!:
Spring approaching...
bwinkel67
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:38 am

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by bwinkel67 »

How can you test if the 16K RAM fully works? I'm having a weird, somewhat intermittent problem with my TS1000 with RAM pack. This little program will fail with either error code 2 or 4:

Code: Select all

10 LET K$=INKEY$
20 IF K$="" THEN GOTO 10


A slightly modified version also fails:

Code: Select all

10 LET K$=INKEY$
15 LET C=CODE K$
20 IF C=0 THEN GOTO 10


They both work fine on EightyOne configured as 16K TS1000.

P.S. One odd note, both on EightyOne and a real TS1000, without RAM pack (i.e. 2K only), both of these programs don't work as C equals 118.

[Edit: fixed code typo where I accidentally used % for $]
Last edited by bwinkel67 on Sun Oct 20, 2024 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:56 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by 1024MAK »

The 118 is the data in the last key pressed "buffer" (the code of the [ENTER]/[NEW LINE] key you pressed after RUN).

If you delay the key read (INKEY$) by having some other code before it (e.g. PAUSE 10), then the loop until a key is pressed will work correctly.

For testing a 16K RAM pack, see this post

Oh, you are using the INKEY$ keyword and not typing it in as individual letters aren't you? Only you've written INKEY% which is nonsense in BASIC.

Mark
ZX81 Variations
ZX81 Chip Pin-outs
ZX81 Video Transistor Amp

:!: Standby alert :!:
There are four lights!
Step up to red alert. Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb :!:
Spring approaching...
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:56 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by 1024MAK »

Here is a photo of the first program showing the use of a PAUSE 10 so that the INKEY$ works as expected:
Use of PAUSE before using INKEY$
Use of PAUSE before using INKEY$
This is on a ZX81 with only 1K of RAM.

Mark
ZX81 Variations
ZX81 Chip Pin-outs
ZX81 Video Transistor Amp

:!: Standby alert :!:
There are four lights!
Step up to red alert. Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb :!:
Spring approaching...
bwinkel67
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:38 am

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by bwinkel67 »

Is it just a timing issue then with 16K (i.e. does the RAM pack slow it down enough so it doesn't need the PAUSE?)

I posted in a new topic about why it fails with error code 2 or 4 when using a RAM pack...turns out its a faulty ROM that still checksums properly.
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:56 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: TS1000 Diagnostic Help

Post by 1024MAK »

I’ve never looked into why there is a different between a machine with only 1K or 2K of memory and 16K of memory in relation to an INKEY$ returning a new line character when used early on in a program. I know about it because it’s caught me out before.

For reference, the new topic that bwinkel67 mentions is this one.

Mark
ZX81 Variations
ZX81 Chip Pin-outs
ZX81 Video Transistor Amp

:!: Standby alert :!:
There are four lights!
Step up to red alert. Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb :!:
Spring approaching...
Post Reply