ZX80 PSU Required

ZX80 / ZX81 hardware and software requested for either sale or swapping
Clint
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:18 pm

ZX80 PSU Required

Post by Clint » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:25 pm

I am after an original ZX80 PSU, don't really care if it works or not.

Regards
Clint

User avatar
PokeMon
Posts: 2225
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:48 pm

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by PokeMon » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:47 pm

+1 for not using modern replacement PSUs. 8-)

RWAP
Site Admin
Posts: 1314
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Contact:

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by RWAP » Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:25 pm

I had one of the original white PSUs a couple of years ago - not very often you see those!

User avatar
Paul
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:15 am
Location: Germanys west end

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by Paul » Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:21 am

Clint wrote:I am after an original ZX80 PSU, don't really care if it works or not.

Regards
Clint
I guess you are not planing to use it but display it with a zx80?
There were different versions of the zx80 psu
I don't know a white one, but two different black ones.
My psu are 99% like 700mA ZX81 units. Only the badge says ZX80 instead of zx81.
Kind regards
Paul
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.

Clint
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:18 pm

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by Clint » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:43 am

Hi Paul, can you attach some pictures of your ones, maybe I can convert a zx81 PSU :)

User avatar
Paul
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:15 am
Location: Germanys west end

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by Paul » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:00 am

Clint wrote:Hi Paul, can you attach some pictures of your ones, maybe I can convert a zx81 PSU :)
Shure. I've put it on my todo list.
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.

gozzo
Posts: 448
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:52 pm

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by gozzo » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:11 pm

My ZX80 PSU (not for sale,though!) is a 'plug size' type (black), some (Americans?) call them 'wall-warts', rated 600mA, I think, but also have one identical to a 'low current' ZX81 PSU (700mA type - later versions were 1.2A as my original ZX81 one was..??!) which is labelled as for a ZX80. Never come across a white one but have seen pictures of them. Note: some 'supposedly' 1.2A ZX81 PSU's in fact have the same smaller transformer as the 700mA type, just a larger value smoothing capacitor, and may overheat, as one of mine is/has! You don't need to 'convert' a ZX81 PSU, just use it as-is, and/or get a ZX80 PSU label printed and stick that on it over it's existing one to make it 'seem' authentic!

User avatar
Paul
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:15 am
Location: Germanys west end

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by Paul » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:42 pm

Paul wrote:
Clint wrote:Hi Paul, can you attach some pictures of your ones, maybe I can convert a zx81 PSU :)
Shure. I've put it on my todo list.
I started a search in the chaos called zeddy room. Unfortunately the zx80 psu didn't come into sight.
But I can say that I was mistaken about the second black zx80 psu type because I found it and has a spectrum type connector so it was definitely not for zx80.
@gozzo
Could you post a picture instead of me, please?
Kind regards
Paul
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.

User avatar
Paul
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:15 am
Location: Germanys west end

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by Paul » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:12 pm

Today I found my ZX80 PSU.
I guess better late than never.
image.jpg
image.jpg (86.81 KiB) Viewed 2500 times
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.

RWAP
Site Admin
Posts: 1314
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Contact:

Re: ZX80 PSU Required

Post by RWAP » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:15 pm

Oh wow - never even realised a ZX80 one was made which was part way along the mains lead (rather than being built into the plug itself)...

Post Reply