Help diagnosing a signal issue

Discussions about Sinclair ZX80 and ZX81 Hardware
mcarlson_sb

Help diagnosing a signal issue

Post by mcarlson_sb »

I've recently acquired a zx81 (rebranded as ts1000) with a 210E ULA
After doing the composite video mod it works well with my Samsung TV, however I'd like it to work with a smaller screen (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BE ... UTF8&psc=1)

It gets signal, but doesn't resolve to a good picture like the Samsung.
Instead I get diagonal lines, blinking, and blank screens.

I've used my oscilloscope to take a look - but I'm very new to reading composite video signals.
It certainly has a back porch. But seems to be missing the front porch.
The ratios seem to be off. And of biggest concern, the VSync signal seems to be one lone (about 375us) low rather than pulses.

Is this "normal" for a zx81 ?
NewFile1.png
NewFile2.png
NewFile.png
1024MAK

Re: Help diagnosing a signal issue

Post by 1024MAK »

Yes, this is normal for a ZX81/TS1000.

Sinclair designed these to work with monochrome (black and white) CRT television sets. CRT sets were completely analogue, so you can get away with a video signal that does not meet the broadcast television standard. Further, the vertical (field) synchronisation standard changed during the lifetime of the CRT technology.

CRT sets were designed to be as tolerant as possible in part because signal fade and signal reflections otherwise would screw up the picture.

LCD displays are often far less tolerant of non compliant video signals. And the ZX81/TS1000 do not produce a video signal that meets the broadcast specification.

For a start, they only output one field, then the exact same field again. Whereas a broadcast television signal is made up of two different interlaced fields (sometimes called the even and odd fields), that make up one frame.