Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Discussions about Sinclair ZX80 and ZX81 Hardware
Post Reply
Thomas F
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:57 am

Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by Thomas F » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:50 am

Hi,

I have a small problem disabling my ZXpand+, it's one of the last years Batch.
When I try to disable it with CONFIG "X" I get a blank screen and nothing happens... Other CONFIG options works well.

Anyone else have this issue? Or any ideas how to disable it to get the abilitie to print something?

Cheers,
Thomas

User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by mrtinb » Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:19 pm

Does your ZX81 work without ZXpand? If not, it could be a broken ROM. The build-in ROM is activated with CONFIG “X”.
Martin
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube

User avatar
Andy Rea
Posts: 1546
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:48 pm
Location: notts UK

Re: Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by Andy Rea » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:32 pm

mrtinb wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:19 pm
Does your ZX81 work without ZXpand? If not, it could be a broken ROM. The build-in ROM is activated with CONFIG “X”.
i was thinkng along these lines but even with ZXpand connected the characters are still produced with the internal rom. could be partial busted i suppose.

regards Andy
6 x ZX81, 1 x TS1500 , 1 x +3e, 1 x timex 2040 printer, 1 x timex 2020 cassette deck, siclair printer and some spectrum

Moggy
Posts: 1846
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 pm

Re: Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by Moggy » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:12 pm

@Thomas.

Hi Thomas just tried config "X" on both of my Xpand+ and all is ok.

I don't think it's a ROM issue as in my experience the chip either works or it doesn't with no half measures.

I have to speak to Charlie later tonight and will pass this on which I think will be the quickest solution. :D

Regards.

Moggy.

LATE EDIT

What happens if you highlight a file in zxpand commander then make the file run by pressing shift/X? does it run or crash?

Thomas F
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:57 am

Re: Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by Thomas F » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:21 pm

mrtinb wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:19 pm
Does your ZX81 work without ZXpand? If not, it could be a broken ROM. The build-in ROM is activated with CONFIG “X”.
Yes, it works with or without ZXpand+, except this small case. Other Config options works as they should work.

@Moggy
Thanks for trying! I've written to Charlie and he will take a look. :)

In the end it's a "personal thing" with exactly this (my) Zeddy... ;) I hope not!

We will see.
Thomas

Moggy
Posts: 1846
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 pm

Re: Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by Moggy » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:25 pm

Ok Thomas check my late edit to the post above.

Thomas F
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:57 am

Re: Config "x" don't work on ZXpand+

Post by Thomas F » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:32 pm

Moggy wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:12 pm
What happens if you highlight a file in zxpand commander then make the file run by pressing shift/X? does it run or crash?
This ends also in a crash/blank screen!

Post Reply