Some Timex 1000 problems.

Discussions about Sinclair ZX80 and ZX81 Hardware
Reinier83

Some Timex 1000 problems.

Post by Reinier83 »

Hi, i'm very new to the ZX81/Timex 1000 home computer.
Last time i got a complete Timex 1000 setup, with games/sofware,16k memory exp and a printer.
But the computer is a bit of a mess, the case looks very good. But it missing screws ant rubber feeds.
And the cable of the keyboard is broken, also the modulator is missing.
I want to repair this nice computer, but what can i do?
Also i'm missing the power adaptor, witch adaptor can i use?
And is there a easy to do composite mod?
RWAP

Re: Some Timex 1000 problems.

Post by RWAP »

I can provide rubber feet and a ZX81 keyboard membrane - there are some minor differences between the TS1000 and ZX81 keyboard unfortunately (this has only recently been pointed out to me).

I only have a UK power supply.
tdg8934

Post by tdg8934 »

Reinier83,

I recently got back into the TS1000 scene from a couple I bought on eBay. One worked and the other had a couple of easy problems to fix. Radio Shack sells an Enercell AC Universal 1000mA AC Adapter which provides switched 3-12 vdc output (#273-316) with a free Enercell adaptaplug (get type "F" (1/8 inch) #273-1709). You can set the switch on 9 vdc. The downside is that the adaptaplug is right angled so it covers up the EAR and TAPE connectors.