Page 1 of 1

Batman for zx81 (16k)

Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2021 4:57 am
by Crayon21
this is my first time bringing the comics batman to the zx81 in text form. It is not the best work but it should suffice for now. I do not believe in graphics making a game. If my game could be expanded, tell me how. My knowledge of the caped crusader only goes so far. Anyway, here you go.

you need the 16k expansion or it won't run

load "btm" if on a real zx81

ok, so you guys played it? how is it?

Re: Batman for zx81 (16k)

Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2021 3:25 pm
by mrtinb
Great initiative, but have you tried to play it yourself?

The input from the user can never match the expected sentence, as the input variable is smaller than the expected sentence.

Re: Batman for zx81 (16k)

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:45 am
by Crayon21
mrtinb wrote: Fri Apr 16, 2021 3:25 pm Great initiative, but have you tried to play it yourself?

The input from the user can never match the expected sentence, as the input variable is smaller than the expected sentence.
in other words?
and where in the code?

Re: Batman for zx81 (16k)

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:21 pm
by mrtinb
When I just press newline to get further in the game, and press CONT command to continue, when the screen is full.

The only way to get a different act in the game is to enter "WIPE" at the input of line 20.

The action of "CHECK BATCOMPUTER" in line 12, "CHECK ROOM" in line 22, and "BREAK WINDOWS" in line 25, will never work, at A$ is only dimensioned to 4 chars in line 9. That's why the command "WIPE" is the only one working.

Code: Select all

     5 PRINT AT 10,0;"batman≥≥the≥≥text≥≥adventure"
     6 PRINT AT 2,10;"4/14/21"
     7 PRINT "*********************           *                   *           * gotham´City       *           *********************"
     8 PRINT "THE JOKER HAS STOLEN 50K OF JEWELRY. BATMAN AND ROBIN ARE ON THE CASE"
     9 DIM A$(4)
    10 PRINT "MIDNIGHT, BATCAVE. 12:01 AM"
    11 INPUT A$
    12 IF A$="CHECK BATCOMPUTER"  THEN PRINT "HOLY TOLEDO BATMAN, TE JOKER IS AT GOTHAM BANK"
    13 PRINT AT 12,0;"LOADING SCENE..."
    14 PRINT "*´´´´´´´´´ gotham´bank´´ "
    15 PRINT "THE JOKER HAS LEFT BEHIND JOKER GAS. IT IS FILLING THE ROOM"
    16 LET T=14
    17 DIM T$(4)
    18 LET TIME=T
    19 IF T<14  THEN PRINT "LIGHTS OUT BATMAN, MWHAHAHA"
    20 INPUT A$
    21 PRINT T
    22 IF A$="CHECK ROOM "  THEN GOTO 15
    23 IF A$="WIPE"  THEN PRINT "´next´scene"
    24 PRINT "WELL THE GAS IS GOING NOWHERE. THIS IS A GAME NOT A CMIC BOOK. "
    25 IF A$="BREAK WINDOWS" THEN PRINT "WINDOWS BROKEN"
    26 PRINT "´´´´´´´´´´"
    27 PRINT "´        ´"
    28 PRINT "´        ´"
    29 PRINT "´        ´"
    30 PRINT "´´´´´´´´´´"
    31 PRINT "YOU MAY HAVE WON THIS ROUND BATS, BUT THE DAY WILL BE MINE. I HAVE HIDDEN A SURPISE IN THE BATCAVE"
    32 PRINT "just´then..."
    33 PRINT "****************"
    34 PRINT "*               *"
    35 PRINT "*   boom        *"
    36 PRINT "******************"
    37 PRINT "THE BATCAVE IS DESTROYED. WHAT WILL OUR HEROES DO NEXT TIME? TIME WILL TELL IF THIS FIENDISH FOOL CAN BE FOUND."

Re: Batman for zx81 (16k)

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:22 am
by Crayon21
mrtinb wrote: Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:21 pm When I just press newline to get further in the game, and press CONT command to continue, when the screen is full.

The only way to get a different act in the game is to enter "WIPE" at the input of line 20.

The action of "CHECK BATCOMPUTER" in line 12, "CHECK ROOM" in line 22, and "BREAK WINDOWS" in line 25, will never work, at A$ is only dimensioned to 4 chars in line 9. That's why the command "WIPE" is the only one working.

Code: Select all

     5 PRINT AT 10,0;"batman≥≥the≥≥text≥≥adventure"
     6 PRINT AT 2,10;"4/14/21"
     7 PRINT "*********************           *                   *           * gotham´City       *           *********************"
     8 PRINT "THE JOKER HAS STOLEN 50K OF JEWELRY. BATMAN AND ROBIN ARE ON THE CASE"
     9 DIM A$(4)
    10 PRINT "MIDNIGHT, BATCAVE. 12:01 AM"
    11 INPUT A$
    12 IF A$="CHECK BATCOMPUTER"  THEN PRINT "HOLY TOLEDO BATMAN, TE JOKER IS AT GOTHAM BANK"
    13 PRINT AT 12,0;"LOADING SCENE..."
    14 PRINT "*´´´´´´´´´ gotham´bank´´ "
    15 PRINT "THE JOKER HAS LEFT BEHIND JOKER GAS. IT IS FILLING THE ROOM"
    16 LET T=14
    17 DIM T$(4)
    18 LET TIME=T
    19 IF T<14  THEN PRINT "LIGHTS OUT BATMAN, MWHAHAHA"
    20 INPUT A$
    21 PRINT T
    22 IF A$="CHECK ROOM "  THEN GOTO 15
    23 IF A$="WIPE"  THEN PRINT "´next´scene"
    24 PRINT "WELL THE GAS IS GOING NOWHERE. THIS IS A GAME NOT A CMIC BOOK. "
    25 IF A$="BREAK WINDOWS" THEN PRINT "WINDOWS BROKEN"
    26 PRINT "´´´´´´´´´´"
    27 PRINT "´        ´"
    28 PRINT "´        ´"
    29 PRINT "´        ´"
    30 PRINT "´´´´´´´´´´"
    31 PRINT "YOU MAY HAVE WON THIS ROUND BATS, BUT THE DAY WILL BE MINE. I HAVE HIDDEN A SURPISE IN THE BATCAVE"
    32 PRINT "just´then..."
    33 PRINT "****************"
    34 PRINT "*               *"
    35 PRINT "*   boom        *"
    36 PRINT "******************"
    37 PRINT "THE BATCAVE IS DESTROYED. WHAT WILL OUR HEROES DO NEXT TIME? TIME WILL TELL IF THIS FIENDISH FOOL CAN BE FOUND."
my apologies for the spelling errors, the z80 in the zx81 is SLOW

Re: Batman for zx81 (16k)

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:28 am
by Crayon21
Crayon21 wrote: Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:22 am
mrtinb wrote: Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:21 pm When I just press newline to get further in the game, and press CONT command to continue, when the screen is full.

The only way to get a different act in the game is to enter "WIPE" at the input of line 20.

The action of "CHECK BATCOMPUTER" in line 12, "CHECK ROOM" in line 22, and "BREAK WINDOWS" in line 25, will never work, at A$ is only dimensioned to 4 chars in line 9. That's why the command "WIPE" is the only one working.

Code: Select all

     5 PRINT AT 10,0;"batman≥≥the≥≥text≥≥adventure"
     6 PRINT AT 2,10;"4/14/21"
     7 PRINT "*********************           *                   *           * gotham´City       *           *********************"
     8 PRINT "THE JOKER HAS STOLEN 50K OF JEWELRY. BATMAN AND ROBIN ARE ON THE CASE"
     9 DIM A$(4)
    10 PRINT "MIDNIGHT, BATCAVE. 12:01 AM"
    11 INPUT A$
    12 IF A$="CHECK BATCOMPUTER"  THEN PRINT "HOLY TOLEDO BATMAN, TE JOKER IS AT GOTHAM BANK"
    13 PRINT AT 12,0;"LOADING SCENE..."
    14 PRINT "*´´´´´´´´´ gotham´bank´´ "
    15 PRINT "THE JOKER HAS LEFT BEHIND JOKER GAS. IT IS FILLING THE ROOM"
    16 LET T=14
    17 DIM T$(4)
    18 LET TIME=T
    19 IF T<14  THEN PRINT "LIGHTS OUT BATMAN, MWHAHAHA"
    20 INPUT A$
    21 PRINT T
    22 IF A$="CHECK ROOM "  THEN GOTO 15
    23 IF A$="WIPE"  THEN PRINT "´next´scene"
    24 PRINT "WELL THE GAS IS GOING NOWHERE. THIS IS A GAME NOT A CMIC BOOK. "
    25 IF A$="BREAK WINDOWS" THEN PRINT "WINDOWS BROKEN"
    26 PRINT "´´´´´´´´´´"
    27 PRINT "´        ´"
    28 PRINT "´        ´"
    29 PRINT "´        ´"
    30 PRINT "´´´´´´´´´´"
    31 PRINT "YOU MAY HAVE WON THIS ROUND BATS, BUT THE DAY WILL BE MINE. I HAVE HIDDEN A SURPISE IN THE BATCAVE"
    32 PRINT "just´then..."
    33 PRINT "****************"
    34 PRINT "*               *"
    35 PRINT "*   boom        *"
    36 PRINT "******************"
    37 PRINT "THE BATCAVE IS DESTROYED. WHAT WILL OUR HEROES DO NEXT TIME? TIME WILL TELL IF THIS FIENDISH FOOL CAN BE FOUND."
my apologies for the spelling errors, the z80 in the zx81 is SLOW
Strange, i'm getting error 5 on 30. it worked fine beforehand.
crap