Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep »

I am trying to get permission to make it an official release.
Still waiting reply, so development is a bit low at the moment.
sirmorris
Posts: 2812
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 5:45 pm

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by sirmorris »

Good luck - I can't wait to see this.
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep »

Well,

it looks like an official release will not be possible.
However I will finish the game.

At the moment I have solved a levelbug.
The levels don't have all 15 lines. Level 63 had only 14 lines. I added a line so it will load correctly.

Next to do enemymovement.
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep »

So after picking up again I knew I had to add enemy-movement.

I already coded the player-movement with the idea that it should be used by the enemies as well.
That was the theory. In practice it wasn’t so easy, but I have it working now with random steps for the enemies.

Next thing is adding AI for the enemies.
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep »

The movement in 1 routine of enemies and player failed and the error was hard to find.
Making a copy especially for enemies does work.
Now the AI for the enemies must be added....
joaopa
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2025 4:37 am

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by joaopa »

Dr Beep,

thanks you for sharing the code in an other thread.
It is a very beautiful piece of code.


Above, you said you have to implement A1AI for enemies
Checking at the source code, at the first glance, I did not find such AI.
Am I mistaken ?

If not, do you plan to finish this part of game?

Thanks you in advance for any answer you could give.
dr beep
Posts: 2428
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep »

joaopa wrote: Tue Feb 18, 2025 6:38 pm Dr Beep,

thanks you for sharing the code in an other thread.
It is a very beautiful piece of code.


Above, you said you have to implement A1AI for enemies
Checking at the source code, at the first glance, I did not find such AI.
Am I mistaken ?

If not, do you plan to finish this part of game?

Thanks you in advance for any answer you could give.
The enemies move towards the player if possible.
Move is done in routine ENMOVE

By heart is is something like this:
1) can I move in Y-direction
2) can I move in X-direction, swap if not any further.
Post Reply