is it possible to get a white on black display?

Anything Sinclair ZX Basic related; history, development, tips - differences between BASIC on the ZX80 and ZX81
Post Reply
the7778
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 5:14 pm

is it possible to get a white on black display?

Post by the7778 »

including the border? without a mod? i would like to be able to do this in basic, with pokes? so you can switch it on and off?

User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 1201
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: is it possible to get a white on black display?

Post by mrtinb »

It requires extra hardware.

I have a custom ULA replica from Andy Rea, that can swap black and white with a small ML-routine.

You can also use an ZX8-CCB from Karl/Pokemon where a jumper/switch can swap black and white.

Then you have the option to connect a Lambda Colour Pack or Chroma color extension. With these color expansions you can POKE foreground and background color from Basic.

All in all this is not a software option, as it’s bound to the ULA hardware.

These hardware solutions either replace the ULA, reimplements the ULA, or modifies the internal composite video signal.
Martin
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube

User avatar
XavSnap
Posts: 890
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 4:23 pm

Re: is it possible to get a white on black display?

Post by XavSnap »

Hi,
The main problème in ASM or Basic is to set the black color in the border.
In fact, the border is drawn in the ROM asm display routine, and the hardware locate the right screen offset.
To invers the screen, you had to invers all off TV signals (hardware kits).
Xavier

Post Reply