DarkStar 2

General games-related topics
User avatar
zsolt
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:43 am
Location: Fót, Hungary

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by zsolt » Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:39 pm

stefano wrote:While you're on it, could you try the 'vanilla' version on the real hardware and confirm the video picture is stable on a tv ?
It's OK - no flicker/jitter - but the outlook could be better: the much "checkerboard" characters are not too eye-friendly...
Regards,
Zsolt
dstar2k.png
like this
dstar2k.png (4.35 KiB) Viewed 1500 times
ZX81 (8K), ENTERPRISE 128, [ZX SPECTRUM (48K,+,+128K,+2,+2A), TS1000, TS1500, TS2068, Cambridge Z88, PRIMO A64 (red)]

User avatar
stefano
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:24 am
Contact:

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by stefano » Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:58 pm

Good point, and I like the idea for the "blocker" !
Is it better now ?
dstar-vanilla.p
Dstar-vanilla, rearranged graphics
(4.89 KiB) Downloaded 94 times
Anybody willing to test the ZX80 version ?
dstar-zx80.o
Dstar for ZX80, rearranged graphics
(4.02 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

User avatar
zsolt
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:43 am
Location: Fót, Hungary

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by zsolt » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:41 am

stefano wrote:Is it better now ?
Much better :D Great work, thank you.
Zsolt
ZX81 (8K), ENTERPRISE 128, [ZX SPECTRUM (48K,+,+128K,+2,+2A), TS1000, TS1500, TS2068, Cambridge Z88, PRIMO A64 (red)]

User avatar
stefano
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:24 am
Contact:

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by stefano » Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:02 pm

While I'm on it, I must apologize with SirMorris for stealing his thread.
I opened a specific one for "DStar 1" in the past but then I attached my stuff to this one messing up the things a little.
So.. if everyone wants to enjoy the bells and whistles, please get the stuff at the earlier pages: I noticed it works also without ZXpand if you GOTO the right program line.

sirmorris
Posts: 2813
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 5:45 pm

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by sirmorris » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:05 pm

No problem here, Stefano! Steal away! :D

User avatar
siggi
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:30 am
Location: Dauernheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by siggi » Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:04 am

Hi Stefano
when I first started the ZX81 version I pressed the key "6", because I am used to play games with the cursor keys. But then the screen switched to a strange pixel pattern: the keys 1-6 seem to change the "I" register, which then probably point to ROM. "0" switches back to the normal character set.

Is it a bug or a feature? Are you playing around with PSEUDO-Hires?

Siggi

Edit: Upps, just noticed in previous postings, that it is a documented feature :mrgreen:
My ZX81 web-server: online since 2007
http://zx81-siggi.endoftheinternet.org/index.html

User avatar
stefano
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:24 am
Contact:

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by stefano » Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:32 pm

Uh well.. it is a feature but it makes little sense on the "vanilla version", if you don't previously load a redefined font.
Check the previous posts and get the UDG version to see some better result, AFAIR it starts in QuickSilva mode, then you can choose the right bank with the number keys.
The Dk'Tronics version in turns picks the pre-defined UDGs.

neazoi
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:59 am

Re: DarkStar 2

Post by neazoi » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:13 pm

How to play level 2 of the dark star 2?
space does not seem to open this door for the ball to come out.
At least not in the emulator

Post Reply