Which emulator and assembler for the Mac?

Emulator and emulator development specific topics
Lardo Boffin

Which emulator and assembler for the Mac?

Post by Lardo Boffin »

Hi all

Apologies if this has already been asked!

I would like to get into Z80 assembly for the zeddy and was wondering which emulator and assembler combo are best for the Mac? Any recommendations for Z80 programming books for the zeddy also appreciated.

Oridinarily I would write software on the computer that it is for but:-

a) my zeddy doesn't have a good screen output at the mo (viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2146)

b) I think it will be a lot easier to do on a Mac if for no other reason than being able to see a large amount of code at once without scrolling

Obviously anything I write will be tested and used on the real thing! I have a ZXpand waiting to be used in anger.

As a complete newbie to zeddy programming (I wrote some very simple stuff in BASIC when they first came out) if someone has a simple 'hello world' program they can share for whichever assembler it is that would be fantastic! :D

Ideally I would like to write a very simple game just to see if I can fit anything interesting into 1k. At work I use computers with literally unlimited resources (certainly by zeddy standards) it isn't much of a challenge / very interesting.

Lardo
ZX80
ZX81 iss 1 (bugged ROM, kludge fix, normal, rebuilt)
TS 1000 iss 3, ZXPand AY and +, ZX8-CCB, ZX-KDLX & ChromaSCART
Tatung 81 + Wespi
TS 1500 & 2000
Spectrum 16k (iss 1 s/n 862)
Spectrum 48ks plus a DIVMMC future and SPECTRA
Paul

Re: Which emulator and assembler for the Mac?

Post by Paul »

I recommend ZEsarUX which runs natively on Windows, Linux and Mac AND supports ZXPAND.
Also I recommend Pokemons Zeddy IDE as a develpment base which runs fine under wine(bottler)
This book Mastering Machine Code on Your ZX81 might be of use as well.
Kind regards
Paul
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.
Lardo Boffin