Troubleshooting Robik, russian clone

bola_dor

Troubleshooting Robik, russian clone

Post by bola_dor »

Hi, I have little experience with ZX Spectrum and Argentinian clones that are 99% as the original ZX but none with this russian (I think it's Ukrainian from the early 90's).
Its video output is RGB it doesn't have a video encoding circuit. As I don't have any 15khz RGB monitor or SCART TV Ive made a simple circuit to have a composite B/W sugnal (I copied it from the CPC 464 schematics that doesn't have a Video encoding IC either) my TV interprets something as color anyway..
Clearly something is not going well.
The ROM is somewhat different, it supports Cirilic characters and the boot screen it's supposed to be blue?.. sometimes it showed the start message shortly but I couldn't get it in video.
Keystrokes are still beeping when you press them. So I tink it may be not completely dead unless it has some dumb beep circuit..
IC names are completely different.
20220708_035740_0.04.166.jpg
20220708_035740_0.08.699.jpg
I've checked the ram.. are 8 ICs at 5v and I found they are pin compatible with 4164. All data, cas, in, out lines are pulsing. I can't figure out how are they multiplexed or addressed..
At Z80 CLK is OK, /RFSH is pulsing. All data and address lines are pulsing, then M1, WAIT, BUSRQ, WR, INT , NHI IORQ are fixed High,
HALT is down.
The others are pulsing...
I refuse to think the ROM is dead as some times it shows up briefly but probably is not being read.
I think the machine doesn't have an ULA but logig ICs..
Sadly rusian designation is different and difficult, for me at least.
I don't know exactly what the Z80 control lines should look like, I've only learned that/RFSH pulsing means is alive but the /HALT being down keeps it doin nothing, (or I may be wrong )
20220710_011756.jpg
I am on the process of trading this machine. IF I can't make it work easily I am afraid I will give it back... it's otherwise in great condition..
Ernesto