Page 2 of 2

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 12:16 am
by 1024MAK
Um, I think the checksums for the 622 and the 649 in Moggy’s post may be swapped :shock:

I was just checking a Zeddy ROM, and it’s definitely a “649” type, the checksum from the BASIC program listed earlier in this topic is 855106.

If you use:

Code: Select all

10 FOR A=3901 TO 3907
20 PRINT A,PEEK A
30 NEXT A
It should print the following for a “649” type

Code: Select all

3901          253
3902          54
3903          53
3904          255
3905          205
3906          7
3907          2
And for a “622” type it should print the following

Code: Select all

3901          205
3902          7
3903          2
3904          253
3905          54
3906          53
3907          255
Just for the record, a "550" ROM should produce:

Code: Select all

3901          253
3902          203
3903          53
3904          254
3905          24
3906          5
3907          62
See also this topic ;-)

Mark

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 12:54 am
by bola_dor
Thanks a lot!!

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 1:35 am
by MarcNL
If only the order of bytes for the pause command are swapped, then this (simple) checksum would be the same.

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 3:02 am
by Moggy
1024MAK wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 12:16 am Um, I think the checksums for the 622 and the 649 in Moggy’s post may be swapped :shock:

I was just checking a Zeddy ROM, and it’s definitely a “649” type, the checksum from the BASIC program listed earlier in this topic is 855106.

If you use:

Code: Select all

10 FOR A=3901 TO 3907
20 PRINT A,PEEK A
30 NEXT A
It should print the following for a “649” type

Code: Select all

3901          253
3902          54
3903          53
3904          255
3905          205
3906          7
3907          2
And for a “622” type it should print the following

Code: Select all

3901          205
3902          7
3903          2
3904          253
3905          54
3906          53
3907          255
See also this topic ;-)

Mark
I've lost the will to live and no longer give a toss! :lol:

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 3:40 am
by XavSnap
Hi,

If you had to launch a checksum test, you had to unplug all external device...

The Memotech I/F, the Memotext, Memocalc, the Memotech HRG or a &1F00 IR UDG RAM... drive any memory offsets to another locations.
The checksum may be wrong.

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 11:22 am
by 1024MAK
MarcNL wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 1:35 am If only the order of bytes for the pause command are swapped, then this (simple) checksum would be the same.
Yes, true.

Mark

Re: what ROM do I have?

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2024 7:38 pm
by stroebeljc
Since checksums are so 1980s and don't actually work to resolve whether you have ZX81 ROM Edition 2 or 3, here is a 1k program that calculates the ROM's CRC16-CCITT to identify its version.
The source is on github.